Author: Uri Blass
Date: 11:14:20 10/18/00
Go up one level in this thread
On October 18, 2000 at 12:34:42, Ricardo Gibert wrote: <snipped> >The algorithm to determine whether this type of position is drawn is quite >simple. With the h-pawn, Black draws if the K can get into the four corner >squares g7,g8,h7,h8. Otherwise, the outcome is not assured. Note, it is not >enough for the King to get in front of the pawn as the following position >illustrates: I can give another rule: Blacks draw if it is black to move and the distance between the black king and the corner in king moves is smaller than the ditance between the corner and the white pieces except the bishop(white king in king moves and white pawn in pawn moves) If it is white to move then use distance-1 instead of distance for white. Uri
This page took 0.01 seconds to execute
Last modified: Thu, 15 Apr 21 08:11:13 -0700
Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.