Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Gambit Tiger 2.0: 6 seconds on K6-2 450

Author: Uri Blass

Date: 23:44:13 04/26/01

Go up one level in this thread


On April 26, 2001 at 19:09:02, Christophe Theron wrote:

>On April 26, 2001 at 16:19:10, Peter Berger wrote:
>
>>On April 26, 2001 at 15:29:16, Christophe Theron wrote:
>>
>>>On April 25, 2001 at 17:31:10, Peter Berger wrote:
>>>>It's similar when it is about proper implementation of draw rules btw . Offering
>>>>draws is only allowed when you have showed your move ; claiming draw by
>>>>repetition or 50 moves rule - this should be done by claiming draw saying : " I
>>>>reach draw by playing blablabla . " - no program does this properly .
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>As far as I know you can claim a draw by repetition or 50 moves rules either
>>>before or after you move.
>>>
>>>As soon as the condition for the draw is met, you can claim it. The condition
>>>can be met before you move, so you can claim a draw before you move.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>    Christophe
>>
>>OK ; let's get nerdish :
>>
>>Article 9: The drawn game
>>
>>9.1 A player can propose a draw after making a move on the chessboard. He must
>>do so before stopping his own clock and starting his opponent's clock. An offer
>>at any other time during play is still valid, but Article 12.5 must be
>>considered. No conditions can be attached to the offer. In both cases the offer
>>cannot be withdrawn and remains valid until the opponent accepts it, rejects it
>>orally, rejects it by making a move, or the game is concluded in some other way.
>>
>>The offer of a draw shall be noted by each player on his scoresheet with the
>>symbol (=).
>>
>>9.2 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when
>>the same position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by repetition of
>>moves)
>>
>>is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and declares
>>to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
>>has just appeared.
>>Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the
>>move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the
>>possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
>>Positions are not the same if a pawn could have been captured en passant or if
>>the right to castle immediately or in the future has been changed.
>>
>>
>>9.3 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, if
>>
>>he writes on his scoresheet, and declares to the arbiter his intention to make a
>>move which shall result in the last 50 moves having been made by each player
>>without the movement of any pawn and without the capture of any piece, or
>>the last 50 consecutive moves have been made by each player without the movement
>>of any pawn and without the capture of any piece.
>>
>>
>>9.4 If the player makes a move without having claimed the draw he loses the
>>right to claim, as in Article 9.2 or 9.3, on that move .
>>
>>9.5 If a player claims a draw as in Article 9.2 or 9.3 he shall immediately stop
>>both clocks. He is not allowed to withdraw his claim.
>>
>>If the claim is found to be correct the game is immediately drawn.
>>If the claim is found to be incorrect, the arbiter shall deduct half of the
>>claimant's remaining time up to a maximum of three minutes and add three minutes
>>to the opponent's remaining time. Then the game shall continue and the intended
>>move must be made.
>>
>>9.6 The game is drawn when a position is reached from which a checkmate cannot
>>occur by any possible series of legal moves, even with the most unskilled play.
>>This immediately ends the game.
>>
>>
>>You are right - repeating the rules of chess is still useful though I think .
>>There is a proper way of doing it ( the one I mentioned ) ; there are also some
>>exceptions which are tolerated ( like the ones you mentioned ) and then there
>>are the things which are simply not considered OK ( like the way all commercial
>>programs who are able to offer draw except Gandalf do it ) .
>
>
>
>Well... I remember that I had to deal with this discussion already. At that time
>I had read the rules again and concluded that the way computers do it was OK.
>
>Maybe I did not have the same rules as you (?!).
>
>Anyway, in case of a draw by repetition, if the game is drawn by repetition by
>the last move of the opponent, then I can ALWAYS make another move that will
>also be a draw by repetition.

No you cannot always do it.
Example:

[D]rnbqkbnr/pppppppp/8/8/8/8/PPPPPPPP/RNBQKBNR w KQkq - 0 1
after 1.Nf3 Nf6 2.Ng1 Ng8 3.Nh3 Nf6 4.Ng1 Ng8 the position is a draw by third
repetition but you cannot make a move in order to get third repetition after
your move.

Uri



This page took 0.41 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 07 Jul 11 08:48:38 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.