Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Repetitions: is this code correct?

Author: José Carlos

Date: 06:27:43 07/12/02

Go up one level in this thread


On July 12, 2002 at 09:19:10, Richard Pijl wrote:

><snipped irrelevant part>
>
>>>>>- Game history should be counted, but make sure you do not evaluate repetitions
>>>>>in the rootnode as you need a move to be played ...
>>>>
>>>>  Not if your opponent has made a move such that there's a 3 times repeated
>>>>position on the board. In that case, you can simply claim the draw.
>>>>
>>>Not by FIDE rules where you have to state a move you want to play which results
>>>in the third time the position occurred. E.g. when from the startposition white
>>>moves its kings knight to f3 and back, and black does the same with its knight
>>>(g8-f6 and back) black can claim a draw before making its fourth move stating
>>>the intention to play f6-g8. If black doesn't, white can by stating the move
>>>g1-f3. However, if white had played the sequence 1.Nf3 2.Ng1 3.Nc3 4.Nb1 it
>>>cannot claim a draw on any move as on either Nc3 or Nf3 the position only
>>>occurred twice.
>>
>> I play white, you play black. The game goes: 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. Ng1 Ng8 3. Nf3 Nf6
>>4. Ng1 Ng8 5. Nf3 Nf6 6. Ng1 Ng8 7. Nf3 Nf6 ... It's perfectly legal because 3rd
>>repetition must be claimed by the players. In this game, either you or me can
>>claim draw by third repetition whenever we want, with or without making a move,
>>because there have been some positions (4 in this case) repeated 3 or more
>>times.
>>  I'm 100% sure about this point.
>>
>You're right. Either something changed in the rules over time or my memory is
>failing me ;-). From the FIDE rules:
>
>'9.2 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when
>the same position, for at least the third time (no necessarily by sequential
>repetition of moves)
>a) is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and
>declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
>b) has just appeard, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
>
>Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the
>move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the
>possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
>Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant
>can no longer be captured or if the right to castle has been changed temporarily
>or permanently.'
>
>(From FIDE Laws of Chess, in force since July 1st 2001)
>
>Richard

  Thanks for the info.
  Luckily I don't have a bug in third repetition then :)

  José C.



This page took 0 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 15 Apr 21 08:11:13 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.