Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Repetitions: The Rules

Author: Robert Hyatt

Date: 13:38:20 07/12/02

Go up one level in this thread


On July 12, 2002 at 11:52:13, Dan Wulff wrote:

>>> I play white, you play black. The game goes: 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. Ng1 Ng8 3. Nf3 Nf6
>>>4. Ng1 Ng8 5. Nf3 Nf6 6. Ng1 Ng8 7. Nf3 Nf6 ... It's perfectly legal because 3rd
>>>repetition must be claimed by the players. In this game, either you or me can
>>>claim draw by third repetition whenever we want, with or without making a move,
>>>because there have been some positions (4 in this case) repeated 3 or more
>>>times.
>>>  I'm 100% sure about this point.
>>>
>>You're right. Either something changed in the rules over time or my memory is
>>failing me ;-). From the FIDE rules:
>>
>>'9.2 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when
>>the same position, for at least the third time (no necessarily by sequential
>>repetition of moves)
>>a) is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and
>>declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
>>b) has just appeard, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
>>
>>Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the
>>move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the
>>possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
>>Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant
>>can no longer be captured or if the right to castle has been changed temporarily
>>or permanently.'
>
>You are wrong........ Read the above again: "is about to appear" or "has just
>appeared". This implies that you CANNOT claim the draw if you play on from the
>3rd repetition, and for example claim a draw ten moves later.
>
>Greetings
>
>Dan Wulff
>(The Gandalf Team)


This is correct.  You can claim it before you move if the position has been
repeated 3 times.  You can claim it after you move if the move causes the
position to be repeated for the third time.  If you pass on making the claim,
then you can't make it later unless the position is repeated _again_ (the 4th
time for example).



This page took 0 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 15 Apr 21 08:11:13 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.