Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Repetitions: The Rules

Author: Robert Hyatt

Date: 15:23:47 07/12/02

Go up one level in this thread


On July 12, 2002 at 17:15:13, Sune Fischer wrote:

>On July 12, 2002 at 16:38:20, Robert Hyatt wrote:
>
>>On July 12, 2002 at 11:52:13, Dan Wulff wrote:
>>
>>>>> I play white, you play black. The game goes: 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. Ng1 Ng8 3. Nf3 Nf6
>>>>>4. Ng1 Ng8 5. Nf3 Nf6 6. Ng1 Ng8 7. Nf3 Nf6 ... It's perfectly legal because 3rd
>>>>>repetition must be claimed by the players. In this game, either you or me can
>>>>>claim draw by third repetition whenever we want, with or without making a move,
>>>>>because there have been some positions (4 in this case) repeated 3 or more
>>>>>times.
>>>>>  I'm 100% sure about this point.
>>>>>
>>>>You're right. Either something changed in the rules over time or my memory is
>>>>failing me ;-). From the FIDE rules:
>>>>
>>>>'9.2 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when
>>>>the same position, for at least the third time (no necessarily by sequential
>>>>repetition of moves)
>>>>a) is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and
>>>>declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
>>>>b) has just appeard, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
>>>>
>>>>Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the
>>>>move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the
>>>>possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
>>>>Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant
>>>>can no longer be captured or if the right to castle has been changed temporarily
>>>>or permanently.'
>>>
>>>You are wrong........ Read the above again: "is about to appear" or "has just
>>>appeared". This implies that you CANNOT claim the draw if you play on from the
>>>3rd repetition, and for example claim a draw ten moves later.
>>>
>>>Greetings
>>>
>>>Dan Wulff
>>>(The Gandalf Team)
>>
>>
>>This is correct.  You can claim it before you move if the position has been
>>repeated 3 times.  You can claim it after you move if the move causes the
>>position to be repeated for the third time.
>
>No, you have to claim it _before_ you make the move, because only the person _in
>the move_ can claim it. If it is you who repeates the second time, then it is
>your opponent who can claim the draw, you had your chance before you made your
>move.
>
>-S.

In my old rule book, the definition of "when is your move completed?" was
quite clear.  You can do either of the following to claim a repetition:

1.  You can claim that the position on the board before you move is a
three-fold repetition, that you have been in this same position three
times in the past.  You can make the claim, stop the clock and ask the
TD to verify your claim.

2.  You can say "I claim a draw by three-fold repetition after I make the
move XXX."  You do _not_ make the move, you do stop the clock and call the
TD over to verify the claim.

IE in either case you really don't make a move on the board, you simply
express your intention to do so in the second case and then call the TD to
comfirm the claim.

Once you make the move and hit the clock, your opportunity to claim the
draw is _gone_.  It is no longer your move.  Your opponent might choose to
make a claim, if he can, or he might choose to make a move that makes it
impossible for you to claim a repetition on your next move...  his choice.

I don't know if the rules for claiming a draw have changed or not, but that
is how they were expressed when I was playing actively and when I ran a lot
of Scholastic-type events at the university chess club many years ago...

However I am _certain_ that you can claim a three-fold repetition if either
(a) the position before you move has occurred three times in the game;  or
(b) the position _after_ the move you intend to play will have occurred three
times in the game.  You can make a valid claim for _either_ circumstance, so
long as you don't make a move and press the clock.  And I think that in the
case of newer rules, you don't even need to press the clock to "end your move"
which is why you don't actually make the move that would cause the repetition.
You inform the TD of your intention to both make it _and_ claim a draw.



>
>>If you pass on making the claim,
>>then you can't make it later unless the position is repeated _again_ (the 4th
>>time for example).



This page took 0 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 15 Apr 21 08:11:13 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.