Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Repetitions: The Rules

Author: José Carlos

Date: 17:08:14 07/12/02

Go up one level in this thread


On July 12, 2002 at 18:58:29, Sune Fischer wrote:

>On July 12, 2002 at 18:23:47, Robert Hyatt wrote:
>
>>On July 12, 2002 at 17:15:13, Sune Fischer wrote:
>>
>>>On July 12, 2002 at 16:38:20, Robert Hyatt wrote:
>>>
>>>>On July 12, 2002 at 11:52:13, Dan Wulff wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>>> I play white, you play black. The game goes: 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. Ng1 Ng8 3. Nf3 Nf6
>>>>>>>4. Ng1 Ng8 5. Nf3 Nf6 6. Ng1 Ng8 7. Nf3 Nf6 ... It's perfectly legal because 3rd
>>>>>>>repetition must be claimed by the players. In this game, either you or me can
>>>>>>>claim draw by third repetition whenever we want, with or without making a move,
>>>>>>>because there have been some positions (4 in this case) repeated 3 or more
>>>>>>>times.
>>>>>>>  I'm 100% sure about this point.
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>You're right. Either something changed in the rules over time or my memory is
>>>>>>failing me ;-). From the FIDE rules:
>>>>>>
>>>>>>'9.2 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when
>>>>>>the same position, for at least the third time (no necessarily by sequential
>>>>>>repetition of moves)
>>>>>>a) is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and
>>>>>>declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
>>>>>>b) has just appeard, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
>>>>>>
>>>>>>Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the
>>>>>>move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the
>>>>>>possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
>>>>>>Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant
>>>>>>can no longer be captured or if the right to castle has been changed temporarily
>>>>>>or permanently.'
>>>>>
>>>>>You are wrong........ Read the above again: "is about to appear" or "has just
>>>>>appeared". This implies that you CANNOT claim the draw if you play on from the
>>>>>3rd repetition, and for example claim a draw ten moves later.
>>>>>
>>>>>Greetings
>>>>>
>>>>>Dan Wulff
>>>>>(The Gandalf Team)
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>This is correct.  You can claim it before you move if the position has been
>>>>repeated 3 times.  You can claim it after you move if the move causes the
>>>>position to be repeated for the third time.
>>>
>>>No, you have to claim it _before_ you make the move, because only the person _in
>>>the move_ can claim it. If it is you who repeates the second time, then it is
>>>your opponent who can claim the draw, you had your chance before you made your
>>>move.
>>>
>>>-S.
>>
>>In my old rule book, the definition of "when is your move completed?" was
>>quite clear.  You can do either of the following to claim a repetition:
>
>OK, but please lets not discuss old books, lets look at the present FIDE rules
>only, or there will be no end to the discussion:)
>
>I think the rules state, that you have to be _in the move_ when claiming the
>draw.
>Moving the piece makes it your opponents turn, ie. you indicate by making the
>move and continuing the game that you do not wish to claim the draw.
>
>Perhaps it is a bit silly that you are not allowed to make the move and stop the
>clock, but if it's not mentioned in the rules...
>
>The reason is, I guess, that a 2 fold repetition can only be seen on the
>scoresheet. The position on the board doesn't convey the relevant information.
>
>-S.
>
>>1.  You can claim that the position on the board before you move is a
>>three-fold repetition, that you have been in this same position three
>>times in the past.  You can make the claim, stop the clock and ask the
>>TD to verify your claim.
>>
>>2.  You can say "I claim a draw by three-fold repetition after I make the
>>move XXX."  You do _not_ make the move, you do stop the clock and call the
>>TD over to verify the claim.
>>
>>IE in either case you really don't make a move on the board, you simply
>>express your intention to do so in the second case and then call the TD to
>>comfirm the claim.
>>
>>Once you make the move and hit the clock, your opportunity to claim the
>>draw is _gone_.  It is no longer your move.  Your opponent might choose to
>>make a claim, if he can, or he might choose to make a move that makes it
>>impossible for you to claim a repetition on your next move...  his choice.
>>
>>I don't know if the rules for claiming a draw have changed or not, but that
>>is how they were expressed when I was playing actively and when I ran a lot
>>of Scholastic-type events at the university chess club many years ago...
>>
>>However I am _certain_ that you can claim a three-fold repetition if either
>>(a) the position before you move has occurred three times in the game;  or
>>(b) the position _after_ the move you intend to play will have occurred three
>>times in the game.  You can make a valid claim for _either_ circumstance, so
>>long as you don't make a move and press the clock.  And I think that in the
>>case of newer rules, you don't even need to press the clock to "end your move"
>>which is why you don't actually make the move that would cause the repetition.
>>You inform the TD of your intention to both make it _and_ claim a draw.
>>
>>
>>
>>>
>>>>If you pass on making the claim,
>>>>then you can't make it later unless the position is repeated _again_ (the 4th
>>>>time for example).

  Interesting discussion, you and Bob are saying the same post after post :)

  José C.



This page took 0 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 15 Apr 21 08:11:13 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.