Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: not using nullmove?

Author: Dieter Buerssner

Date: 15:14:45 02/16/04

Go up one level in this thread


On February 16, 2004 at 10:24:26, martin fierz wrote:

>i think i saw KRP-KR once, muse on the weak side, clear draw. gothmog thought it
>was about 1.5 pawns ahead IIRC. a simple but good rule for this one is: if the
>king of the defending side is anywhere on the pawn's path to a queen, it's a
>draw - i don't return a draw there, but something like -0.5 pawns for the
>defender - after all, you still have small chances against a weak opponent. but
>perhaps this was in a game against frenzee - i hope i haven't mixed things up...

Martin, can you please elaborate on your rule "anywhere on the pawn's path to a
queen". I don't get it. I believe I understand basic draw and won positions in
KRPKR (from text books). But I am not able to understand your rule.

Regards,
Dieter



This page took 0.02 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 07 Jul 11 08:48:38 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.