Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Gambit Tiger 2.0: 6 seconds on K6-2 450

Author: Christophe Theron

Date: 19:06:39 04/26/01

Go up one level in this thread


On April 26, 2001 at 19:34:09, Uri Blass wrote:

>On April 26, 2001 at 19:09:02, Christophe Theron wrote:
>
>>On April 26, 2001 at 16:19:10, Peter Berger wrote:
><snipped>
>>>9.3 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, if
>>>
>>>he writes on his scoresheet, and declares to the arbiter his intention to make a
>>>move which shall result in the last 50 moves having been made by each player
>>>without the movement of any pawn and without the capture of any piece, or
>>>the last 50 consecutive moves have been made by each player without the movement
>>>of any pawn and without the capture of any piece.
>
>
><snipped>
>>In the case of the 50 moves rules, I'm not sure. It could be that in some
>>positions the game could have been claimed a draw by the opponent, but he did
>>not claim it. Then it's my turn to move, and it could be that I have to make a
>>move that "resets" the 50 moves counter (for example if I am forced to move a
>>pawn).
>>
>>So in this case claiming the draw before moving is probably incorrect, seldomly.
>
>No
>claiming a draw is almost always correct even without making a move if the last
>100 plies were without capture and pawn moves.
>
>The only exception is the case when the final position after 100 plies is a
>checkmate and some chess program lost games because of the bug of assuming that
>100 plies without capture and pawn moves is a draw without checking if the final
>position is checkmate.
>
>If you look at the or in 9.3 you can see that the rules say that claiming a draw
>without making a move is also correct.
>
>The only case when you have to make a move to ask for a draw is the case when
>the last 99 plies and not the last 100 plies were without capture.
>
>Uri



Yes, you are right. I did not read carefully enough.

So declaring draw BEFORE making any move is either explicitely stated in the
rules or implicitely allowed by the rules. Exception is the 50 moves rule if you
are mate next move...

The handling of the clock is something else. It is indeed incorrect in current
chess programs (at least those I know).



    Christophe



This page took 0.03 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 07 Jul 11 08:48:38 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.