Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Re: Gambit Tiger 2.0: 6 seconds on K6-2 450

Author: Uri Blass

Date: 16:34:09 04/26/01

Go up one level in this thread


On April 26, 2001 at 19:09:02, Christophe Theron wrote:

>On April 26, 2001 at 16:19:10, Peter Berger wrote:
<snipped>
>>9.3 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, if
>>
>>he writes on his scoresheet, and declares to the arbiter his intention to make a
>>move which shall result in the last 50 moves having been made by each player
>>without the movement of any pawn and without the capture of any piece, or
>>the last 50 consecutive moves have been made by each player without the movement
>>of any pawn and without the capture of any piece.


<snipped>
>In the case of the 50 moves rules, I'm not sure. It could be that in some
>positions the game could have been claimed a draw by the opponent, but he did
>not claim it. Then it's my turn to move, and it could be that I have to make a
>move that "resets" the 50 moves counter (for example if I am forced to move a
>pawn).
>
>So in this case claiming the draw before moving is probably incorrect, seldomly.

No
claiming a draw is almost always correct even without making a move if the last
100 plies were without capture and pawn moves.

The only exception is the case when the final position after 100 plies is a
checkmate and some chess program lost games because of the bug of assuming that
100 plies without capture and pawn moves is a draw without checking if the final
position is checkmate.

If you look at the or in 9.3 you can see that the rules say that claiming a draw
without making a move is also correct.

The only case when you have to make a move to ask for a draw is the case when
the last 99 plies and not the last 100 plies were without capture.

Uri



This page took 0.07 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 07 Jul 11 08:48:38 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.