Computer Chess Club Archives


Search

Terms

Messages

Subject: Draw claims

Author: Thomas Mayer

Date: 07:11:46 06/17/03


Hi there,

I just had a discussion about draws in the winboard forum... In my mind there is
the following theoretical game:

There is a situation where Quark would fail:
[Event "Test game for Andreas"]
[Site "Virtually in my head"]
[Date "2003.06.17"]
[White "Left part of my head v31"]
[Black "Right part of my head v31"]
[Result "1/2-1/2"]
[TimeControl "endless"]
1. h3 h6 2. Rh2 Rh7 3. Rh1 Rh8 {in fact this is the first repetition, because
of changed castling rights, Quark would think that it is NO repetition}
4. Rh2 Rh7 5. Rh1 Rh8 6. Rh2 Rh7 7. Rh1 Rh8 1/2-1/2 {draw it would take Quark
one repetition more to see that - of course I see no importance in this
example, I have no problems with draws announced a bit to late if they are
anyway correct - but I have problems with draws that are announced to early}

After testing that with other GUIs (e.g. ChessBase) I found out that they do
also not claim this as a draw after 7. ... Rh8 -> In my opinion this IS
according to the rules draw, but the GUIs only claim draw after a theoretical 8.
Rh2 Rh7... So who is right ?

Greets, Thomas



This page took 0.08 seconds to execute

Last modified: Thu, 07 Jul 11 08:48:38 -0700

Current Computer Chess Club Forums at Talkchess. This site by Sean Mintz.